為何亞洲人風險更高?

為何亞洲人的糖尿病風險更高?

研究表明,與歐洲血統的人相比,亞洲人罹患2型糖尿病的風險更高。1 即使在體重指數較低時,亞洲人也更有可能罹患這種疾病。這意味著,雖然一些亞洲人群目前的超重和肥胖者比例低于西方人群,但是他們的糖尿病患者百分比過高。1 目前,全球 60% 的糖尿病人口為亞洲人。2

這種過高的風險可能是因為亞洲人,尤其是南亞人,可能有較少肌肉和較多腹部脂肪,這會增加胰島素抵抗性。例如,雖然印度新生兒的平均體重低于白人新生兒,但印度新生兒的身體脂肪和胰島素水平要高。3 測量人體脂肪的成像技術表明,體重指數健康的亞洲人器官週圍和腹部的脂肪比體重指數相同的歐洲人要多。1

如果您是亞洲人,不要只是計算體重指數,而應測量您腰部的距離(您的腰圍),以更準確地預測您罹患糖尿病的風險。4 您可以通過在髖骨正上方圍繞身體放置卷尺(通常在肚臍水平位置)測量腰圍。即使您的體重指數正常,“蘋果身材”(腰部有過多脂肪)也會增加您罹患糖尿病的風險。您的目標腰圍測量值為男性小於或等於90公分 (35.5英寸),女性小於或等於 80 公分 (31.5 英寸)。5

即使您沒有超重,您罹患糖尿病的風險也可能較高。由於某些飲食和生活方式趨勢,亞洲人也有罹患糖尿病的風險。

  • 城市化和現代化導致走路減少,騎腳踏車減少,日常體力活動減少。
  • 亞洲國家幾乎50%的成年男性經常吸煙,1 這與腹部脂肪較多以及罹患糖尿病的風險增加 45% 有關。6
  • 白米飯和其他細糧與糖尿病的風險增加有關聯,而這些在亞洲飲食中佔了每日能量攝入量的很大比例。2
  • 不健康的反式脂肪酸和飽和脂肪(例如棕櫚油)通常用作食用油。
  • 由於全球化,快餐更為常見,隨處可以買到。在對43,000多名中國成人進行的一項新加坡研究中,與報告吃得很少或不吃快餐的人相比,吃西式快餐的人罹患糖尿病的風險高 27%。2
  • 母親懷孕時營養不良意味著當嬰兒長大時,他或她更有可能出現高血糖,尤其是如果迅速轉換為精製碳水化合物含量高的食物、含糖飲料或含脂肪的西式快餐。6-9
  • 空氣污染是亞洲日益嚴重的問題,也可能增加胰島素抵抗性和糖尿病的風險。10

閱讀有關糖尿病風險與亞洲人飲食生活方式之間的關係的更多訊息。

參考文獻:
1 Chan JC, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: epidemiology, risk factors, and pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
2 Malik V, Willett WC, Hu FB. Global obesity: trends, risk factors and policy implications. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2013;9(1):13-27. 
3 Yajnik CS, Lubree HG, Rege SS, et al. Adiposity and hyperinsulinemia in Indians are present at birth. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2002;87(12):5575-5580.
5 BMI Calculator. Asian American Diabetes Initiative Web site. http://aadi.joslin.org/content/bmi-calculatorAccessed August 12, 2013.
6 Hu FB. Globalization of diabetes: The role of diet, lifestyle, and genes. Diabetes Care. 2011;34(6):1249-1257.
8 Ravelli ACJ, van der Meulen JHP, Michels RPJ, et al. Glucose tolerance in adults after prenatal exposure to famine. Lancet. 1998;351:173-177.
10 Pearson JF, Bachireddy C, Shyamprasad S, Goldfine AB, Brownstein JS. Association between fine particulate matter and diabetes prevalence in the U.S. Diabetes Care. 2010;33(10):2196-2201.

Why are Asians at Higher Risk?

Why are Asians at Higher Risk?

Studies have shown that Asians are at higher risk of developing type 2 diabetes, when compared with people of European ancestry.1 Asians are more likely to develop the disease even at a lower BMI. This means that even though some Asian populations currently have a lower prevalence of overweight and obese individuals than populations in the West, they have a disproportionately high percentage of people with diabetes.1 Currently, 60% of the world’s diabetic population is Asian.2
 
This higher risk may be because Asians, especially South Asians, are more likely to have less muscle and more abdominal fat, which increases insulin resistance. For example, even though Indian newborns have a lower average body weight compared to white newborns, Indian newborns have higher levels of body fat and insulin.3 Imaging technology that measures fat in humans has shown that Asians of a healthy BMI have more fat around organs and in the belly area than Europeans with the same BMI.1
 
If you are Asian, rather than just calculating BMI, measure the length around your waist (your waist circumference) to predict your diabetes risk more accurately.4 You can measure waist circumference by putting a tape measure around your body just above your hipbone, usually at the level of your belly button. Even if you have a normal BMI, an “apple-shaped body” (with excess fat around the waist) increases your diabetes risk. Your target measurement for waist circumference should be less than or equal to 90 cm (35.5 in) for men and 80 cm (31.5 in) for women.5
 
Even if you are not overweight, you can still be at high risk for diabetes. Asians are also at risk of developing diabetes due to certain diet and lifestyle trends. 
 
•Urbanization and modernization have led to less walking, less biking, and less daily physical activity.
Nearly 50% of adult men in Asian countries smoke regularly,1 which is associated with higher abdominal fat and a 45% increased risk of developing diabetes.6
White rice and other refined grains, which are linked to increased risk of diabetes, make up a large proportion of daily energy intake in Asian diets.2
Unhealthy trans fats and saturated fats, such as palm oil, are often used as cooking oils. 
Due to globalization, fast food is much more common and widely available. In one Singapore study of more than 43,000 Chinese adults, those who ate Western-style fast food more than twice a week had a 27% increased risk of developing diabetes compared to those who reported eating little or no fast food.2
Poor nutrition when a mother is pregnant means that when that the baby grows up, he or she will be more likely to have high blood sugar, especially if rapidly transitioning to a diet high in refined carbohydrates, sugary beverages, or fatty Western fast foods.6-9
Air pollution, an increasing problem in Asia, may also increase risk of insulin resistance and diabetes.10
 
Read more about the relationship between diabetes risk and Asian diets and lifestyle.
 
References:
1 Chan JC, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: epidemiology, risk factors, and pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
2 Malik V, Willett WC, Hu FB. Global obesity: trends, risk factors and policy implications. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2013;9(1):13-27. 
3 Yajnik CS, Lubree HG, Rege SS, et al. Adiposity and hyperinsulinemia in Indians are present at birth. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2002;87(12):5575-5580.
5 BMI Calculator. Asian American Diabetes Initiative Web site. http://aadi.joslin.org/content/bmi-calculatorAccessed August 12, 2013.
6 Hu FB. Globalization of diabetes: The role of diet, lifestyle, and genes. Diabetes Care. 2011;34(6):1249-1257.
8 Ravelli ACJ, van der Meulen JHP, Michels RPJ, et al. Glucose tolerance in adults after prenatal exposure to famine. Lancet. 1998;351:173-177.
10 Pearson JF, Bachireddy C, Shyamprasad S, Goldfine AB, Brownstein JS. Association between fine particulate matter and diabetes prevalence in the U.S. Diabetes Care. 2010;33(10):2196-2201.