糖尿病類型

大多數病例是可預防

下面是 2 型、1 型和妊娠期糖尿病的說明。該網站著重於2型糖尿病的預防,這是最常見和可預防的糖尿病類型。

2 型糖尿病:

胰島素是一種激素,可讓您的細胞獲得葡萄糖,在您飲食時葡萄糖會進入您的血液。葡萄糖是細胞的常見和重要的能量來源。當您的細胞對胰島素的反應變得不太靈敏時,您身體的胰腺會試著生成更多胰島素,以刺激細胞作出反應,吸收更多葡萄糖。這最終導致胰島素生成細胞精疲力盡,從而開始衰竭。胰島素缺乏導致2型糖尿病,這是您血液中葡萄糖過剩的一種疾病。2型糖尿病過去稱為成人發病型糖尿病,因為在兒童和青少年中罕見。然而,隨著兒童肥胖率的日益上昇,它在青少年中已經變得較為顯著。由於近來飲食和生活方式的迅速變化,2型糖尿病在亞洲也變為常見的疾病。研究表明,在相同體重指數時,亞洲人相比高加索人罹患2型糖尿病的風險更高。1 雖然遺傳風險因素在2型糖尿病中起了一定作用,但是它在很大程度上可通過簡單的步驟預防,例如控制體重、加強運動、健康飲食和不吸煙。2

1 型糖尿病:

1型糖尿病是自身免疫疾病,發生於免疫系統攻擊並使胰腺中的胰島素生成細胞永久失去能力,從而導致胰島素生成不足,血液中葡萄糖過多。這類糖尿病過去稱為幼年發病型或胰島素依賴型糖尿病。確診的糖尿病病例中,大約 5% 至 10% 為 1 型糖尿病。3

妊娠期糖尿病:

一些在懷孕前沒有糖尿病的女性在懷孕期間出現高血糖水平,患上妊娠期糖尿病。患上這種疾病後,身體不能生成或利用妊娠所需的所有胰島素。如果孕婦在懷孕期間不尋求治療,控制這種情況,嬰兒可能有問題,在出生時身體脂肪和胰島素會過多,這可能增加今後出現呼吸問題和糖尿病的風險。

妊娠期糖尿病的患病率在亞洲各國大相徑庭。然而,印度某些地區(例如金奈)的妊娠期糖尿病發病率一向很高,在孕婦中高達16%。而且,近來,中國、香港和泰國的妊娠期糖尿病患病率一直在升高。4 您可以在我們的姐妹網站肥胖預防資料來源(The Obesity Prevention Source)閱讀有關妊娠期糖尿病影響的更多訊息。

參考文獻:
1 Chan JC, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: epidemiology, risk factors, and pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-40. 
3 National Diabetes Statistics, 2011. National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse. http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/statistics/. Published February 2011. Accessed August 12, 2013.
4 Hirst JE, Raynes-Greenow CH, Jeffery HE. A systematic review of trends of gestational diabetes mellitus in Asia. Journal of Diabetology. 2012;3:4.

Types of Diabetes

A Majority of Cases are Preventable

Below are descriptions of type 2, type 1, and gestational diabetes. This website focuses on the prevention of type 2 diabetes, which is the most common and preventable type of the disease.
 
Type 2 diabetes:
 
Insulin is a hormone that allows your cells to receive glucose, which goes into your bloodstream when you eat or drink. Glucose is a common and important source of energy for your cells. When your cells become less responsive to insulin, your body’s pancreas tries to make more insulin to stimulate the cells to respond and absorb more glucose. This eventually causes the insulin-making cells to tire out and begin to fail. The insulin shortage leads to type 2 diabetes, a disease in which you have excess glucose in your bloodstream. Type 2 diabetes used to be called adult-onset diabetes because it was rarely seen in children and adolescents. But, with the rising rates of childhood obesity, it has become more common in youth. It has also become more common in Asia due to recent rapid changes in diet and lifestyle. Studies have shown that Asians are at a higher risk for type 2 diabetes compared with Caucasians at the same body-mass index.1 Although genetic risk factors play a part in type 2 diabetes, it is largely preventable through simple steps like keeping your weight under control, exercising more, eating a healthy diet, and not smoking.2
 
Type 1 diabetes:
 
Type 1 diabetes is an auto-immune disease that occurs when the immune system attacks and permanently disables the insulin-making cells in the pancreas, leading to inadequate insulin production and excess glucose in your bloodstream. This type of diabetes used to be called juvenile-onset or insulin-dependent diabetes. About 5 to 10 percent of diagnosed diabetes cases are type 1 diabetes.3
 
Gestational diabetes:
 
Some women who do not have diabetes before pregnancy have high blood sugar levels while pregnant and develop gestational diabetes. With this condition, the body is not able to make or use all of the insulin needed for pregnancy. If a mother does not seek treatment and control this condition during pregnancy, the baby may have problems with excess body fat and insulin at birth, which can increase the risk of breathing problems and diabetes later in life.
 
The prevalence of gestational diabetes varies widely throughout Asia. However, certain portions of India, such as Chennai, have consistently high rates of gestational diabetes, as high as 16% among pregnant women. Moreover, in recent times, the prevalence of gestational diabetes has been increasing in China, Hong Kong, and Thailand.4 Read more about the effects of gestational diabetes at our sister site, The Obesity Prevention Source.
 
References:
1 Chan JC, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: epidemiology, risk factors, and pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-40. 
3  National Diabetes Statistics, 2011. National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse. http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/statistics/. Published February 2011. Accessed August 12, 2013.
4 Hirst JE, Raynes-Greenow CH, Jeffery HE. A systematic review of trends of gestational diabetes mellitus in Asia. Journal of Diabetology. 2012;3:4.