概述

您是否有风险?

糖尿病是糖类在血液中累积超过正常水平的一种慢性疾病。

健康的身体使用激素胰岛素将糖类(“葡萄糖”)移动到细胞中。如果您患有糖尿病,您的身体不能产生足够的胰岛素,或者对自身的胰岛素产生抗性,这样过多糖类不能转运到您的细胞中,而是停留在血液中。当血液中的葡萄糖不能进入细胞时,就会导致健康问题。

对2型糖尿病的公共卫生关注日益增加,这是一种可预防的疾病,在亚洲人以及年轻人和青少年中变得越来越常见。2型糖尿病的风险因素包括超重和肥胖、腰间多余赘肉、不健康的饮食、缺少体力活动、吸烟、遗传倾向和家族史。即使您不超重,您也可能罹患 2 型糖尿病。

糖尿病可以通过医生的一系列检测确诊,如果人们不去看医生,通常得不到确诊。您越早评估自己罹患糖尿病的风险,就越有可能预防对您身体的可能伤害。如果您出现2型糖尿病症状,例如过度口渴、尿频、不明原因的体重减轻、极度饥饿、突然地视力变化、双手或双脚刺痛或麻木、疲劳、皮肤非常干燥或伤口愈合缓慢,您应联系您的医生。1

一旦您患上糖尿病,就几乎永远不可逆转 – 意味着您的余生将在这种疾病中度过 – 但是您可以做出健康的选择来预防并发症,例如心脏病、眼睛问题、脚部问题、神经损伤、感染、性功能障碍和肾损伤。

控制体重、经常运动、健康饮食和不吸烟是您可以采取以帮助预防2型糖尿病,或降低您出现并发症的风险(如果您已经患有该疾病)的重要措施。糖尿病预防研究表明,生活方式变化,包括体力活动增加、营养加强和体重控制,可大幅降低罹患2型糖尿病的风险。2

参考文献:
1 Diabetes. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Web site. http://www.cdc.gov/media/presskits/aahd/diabetes.pdf. Accessed August 12, 2013.

Overview

Are You at Risk?

Diabetes is a chronic condition in which sugars build up in your blood beyond a normal level.
 
A healthy body uses the hormone insulin to move sugars (“glucose”) into your cells. If you have diabetes, your body either cannot produce enough insulin or is resistant to its own insulin, so excess sugars can’t move into your cells and, instead, stay in your blood.  When glucose in the bloodstream can’t enter into your cells, it leads to health problems.
 
There is a growing public health focus on type 2 diabetes, a preventable condition that has become increasingly common among Asian populations and in young adults and adolescents. Risk factors for type 2 diabetes include overweight and obesity, excess weight around the waist, unhealthy diet, lack of physical activity, smoking, genetic disposition, and family history. You can develop type 2 diabetes even if you are not overweight.
 
Diabetes can be diagnosed through a series of tests from your doctor, and it often goes undiagnosed when people do not visit their doctors. The earlier you assess your own diabetes risk, the more likely you can prevent possible damage to your body. If you experience type 2 diabetes symptoms such as excessive thirst, frequent urination, unexplained weight loss, extreme hunger, sudden vision changes, tingling or numbness in your hands or feet, fatigue, very dry skin, or wounds that are slow to heal, you should contact your doctor.1
 
Once you develop diabetes, it is almost never reversible – meaning you will have it for the rest of your life – but you can make healthy choices to prevent complications such as heart disease, eye problems, foot problems, nerve damage, infections, sexual dysfunction, and kidney damage.
 
Keeping your weight under control, exercising regularly, eating a healthy diet, and not smoking are important steps you can take to help prevent type 2 diabetes or, if you already have the disease, to reduce your risk of developing complications. Diabetes prevention studies have shown that changes in lifestyle, including increased physical activity, better nutrition, and body weight management, can substantially decrease the risk of type 2 diabetes.2
 
References:
1 Diabetes. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Web site. http://www.cdc.gov/media/presskits/aahd/diabetes.pdf. Accessed August 12, 2013.