費用與意義

您的選擇將會影響您的家人

糖尿病會產生負面影響:不僅影響您的健康,也影響您的經濟狀況。

對於有一個糖尿病成人的低收入印度家庭而言,高達25%的家庭收入可能用于支付糖尿病護理。1

在中國,每年大約有260億美元花費在糖尿病相關醫療費用上。這相當於中國總醫療支出的大約13%,如果不採取措施,這些費用預計會大幅增長。2 中國的糖尿病患者數量為全球之最—目前差不多有 1.14 億 3 — 考慮到中國人口眾多,這可能不足為奇。但糖尿病增加的速率令人擔憂:在中國,該疾病的發生率是過去十年的三倍以上。4

由於缺乏知識或害怕治療費用,許多糖尿病患者得不到確診。此外,更有效的新治療藥物,可能需要數年才能添加至醫療保健報銷清單中,這導致以後會出現更大的健康問題。根據中國糖尿病學會的數據,即使在確診的糖尿病患者中,也只有大約40%的人的血糖在控制下。血糖控制不適當會導致心臟、腎臟、血管、眼睛和神經損傷。3

參考文獻:
1 Diabetes: the cost of diabetes. World Health Organization Web site. http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs236/en/. Accessed August 12, 2013.
2 Gale J. Diabetes Costs China $26 Billion a Year, Researchers Find. Bloomberg. November 13, 2010. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-11-14/china-s-annual-26-billion-diabetes-bill-to-skyrocket-researchers-report.html. Accessed August 12, 2013.
3 Xu Y, Wang L, He J, et al. Prevalence and control of diabetes in Chinese adults. JAMA. 2013;310(9):948-59.
4 China Diabetes Triples Creating $3.2 Billion Drug Market. Bloomberg. November 5, 2012. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-11-04/china-diabetes-triples-creating-3-2-billion-drug-market.html. Accessed August 12, 2013.

Costs and Implications

Your Choices Affect Your Family

Diabetes takes a toll: not only on your health, but also on your wallet. 
 
For a low-income Indian family with one diabetic adult, as much as 25 percent of the family’s income may go to diabetes care.1
 
In China, about 26 billion USD is spent on diabetes-related medical costs annually. This amounts to about 13 percent of total medical spending in China, and these costs are expected to grow dramatically if action is not taken.2 China has the highest number of diabetics in the world—currently nearly 114 million3—which may not be surprising given its large population. But the rate at which diabetes is increasing is alarming: The disease has more than tripled in China in the last decade.4
 
Many people with diabetes go undiagnosed either because of a lack of knowledge or fear of treatment costs. Moreover, new, more effective treatments can take years to be added to health care reimbursement lists. This leads to even larger health problems down the road. According to the Chinese Diabetes Society, even among diagnosed diabetics, only about 40 percent have their blood sugar under control. Improper blood sugar control can lead to heart, kidney, blood vessel, eye, and nerve damage.3
 
References:
1 Diabetes: the cost of diabetes. World Health Organization Web site. http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs236/en/. Accessed August 12, 2013.
2 Gale J. Diabetes Costs China $26 Billion a Year, Researchers Find. Bloomberg. November 13, 2010. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-11-14/china-s-annual-26-billion-diabetes-bill-to-skyrocket-researchers-report.html. Accessed August 12, 2013.
3 Xu Y, Wang L, He J, et al. Prevalence and control of diabetes in Chinese adults. JAMA. 2013;310(9):948-59.
4 China Diabetes Triples Creating $3.2 Billion Drug Market. Bloomberg. November 5, 2012. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-11-04/china-diabetes-triples-creating-3-2-billion-drug-market.html. Accessed August 12, 2013.