健康的工作環境

針對工作的小技巧

由於近期的經濟增長,追求事業有成已成為數百萬亞洲人的理想,且已創造許多要求高程度教育和技能的就業機會。然而,在亞洲,在白領職位出現之後,接著出現了意想不到的後果。亞洲成人人群花在體力活動上的時間越來越少。事實上,亞洲國家的成人比其他國家的成人經常工作更長時間。1-2

亞洲白領職位的增加,加上對生產率的要求不斷提高,在促成亞洲令人擔憂的肥胖和 2 型糖尿病患病率中發揮了重要作用。

然而,僅把這些問題視為個人問題是目光短淺的。由病假造成的生產力損失,由帶病工作造成的生產率降低、工傷和醫療開支增加均可能嚴重減少公司的利潤。

因此,促成健康的行為正符合雇主的利益,因為在員工的健康上投資不僅轉化為經濟利益,還會轉化為更具吸引力的環境,在這樣的環境中員工可以不斷進步。

以下是在工作場所促進健康的重要機會:

1. 營養課或諮詢服務可能是工作場所中很有價值的選擇。員工可以學會選擇健康的食物(例如,全穀類、水果和蔬菜),盡量少吃細糧(包括諸如白米飯和麵條的主食)。一項研究發現,工作場所的營養教育與體重減輕、腰圍減少、總膽固醇降低和空腹葡萄糖濃度降低及相關的益處有關。3 另一項研究發現,營養諮詢服務導致鈉攝入量和血壓降低。4 知道吃哪些食物才健康是幫助改善員工飲食關鍵的第一步。

2. 增加工作場所健康食物的獲取給員工提供了將他們所學的有關健康飲食的知識付諸實踐的機會。這些食物應當隨處可見、員工負擔得起且外觀很吸引人,以鼓勵養成良好的習慣。研究表明,將飲食諮詢服務與增加健康食物選擇的獲取結合起來給員工提供了許多益處,包括體重顯著減輕。5, 6

3. 在工作中提供運動機會。研究表明,少量體力活動可以給心臟健康和壓力減輕帶來顯著的益處。7 而且,短時間運動可以降低身體傷害的風險。這些發現表明,如果戰略性促進運動,短時間的體力活動切實可行,這對工作場所中久坐不動的人很有吸引力,且可提供顯著的健康益處。7 舉例來說,雇主可以鼓勵員工走樓梯代替乘電梯。

4. 鼓勵在工作之餘運動。雇主還可以與商業健身機構合作,提供健身房會員折扣。他們還可以向員工提供激勵機制,以儘可能讓員工嘗試騎腳踏車或走路上班。越來越多的研究表明,體力活動還會改善認知功能,尤其是額葉介導的認知過程,例如,計劃、安排和工作記憶,8 所有這些均有助于提高工作績效。

5. 改善工作空間。馬來西亞的一項工作場所有效預防包括在辦公室放置飲水冷卻器和體重秤。9 前者促進飲用水代替含糖飲料,後者為員工提供了維持健康體重的激勵。這些變化是一項預防計劃的一部分,該計劃幫助降低了員工的血清膽固醇水平。9

通過採用上述建議,雇主可以使工作場所變成更健康的環境,這將改善員工的健康,提高生產率,對所有相關人員都有好處。

參考文獻:
2 Stephenson W. Who works the longest hours? http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-18144319. Published May 23, 2012. Accessed March 6, 2014.
3 Prabhakaran D, Jeemon P, Goenka S, et al. Impact of a worksite intervention program on cardiovascular risk factors: a demonstration project in an Indian industrial populationJ Am Coll Cardiol. 2009;53(18):1718-1728.
5 Ni Mhurchu C, Aston LM, Jebb SA. Effects of worksite health promotion interventions on employee diets: a systematic reviewBMC Public Health. 2010;10:62.
6 Verweij LM, Coffeng J, van Mechelen W, Proper KI. Meta-analyses of workplace physical activity and dietary behaviour interventions on weight outcomesObes Rev. 2011;12(6):406-429.
7 Barr-Anderson DJ, AuYoung M, Whitt-Glover MC, Glenn BA, Yancey AK. Integration of short bouts of physical activity into organizational routine a systematic review of the literatureAm J Prev Med. 2011;40(1):76-93.
9 Moy F, Sallam AA, Wong M. The results of a worksite health promotion programme in Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaHealth Promot Int. 2006;21(4):301-310.

A Healthy Work Environment

Tips for Work

Due to recent economic growth, the pursuit of a fulfilling career has become a reality for millions in Asia, and many jobs requiring high degrees of education and skill have been created. However, unintended consequences have ensued following the emergence of white-collar jobs in Asia. Asian adult populations increasingly spend less time being physically active. In fact, adults in Asian nations frequently work longer hours than adults in other nations.1-2
 
The increase of white-collar positions in Asia, combined with ever increasing demands for productivity, have played a significant role in contributing to the alarming prevalence of obesity and type 2 diabetes in Asia.
 
It is short-sighted, however, to consider these problems as only problems for individuals. Loss of productivity stemming from medical leave, lower productivity from working while ill, workplace injuries, and medical expenses could all seriously diminish a company’s profits.
 
Therefore, it is very much in the interest of an employer to facilitate healthy behaviors because investing in the health of employees translates not only into financial gains, but also into a more appealing environment in which workers can thrive. 
 
The following are important opportunities for promoting good health in the workplace:
 
1. Nutrition classes or counseling could be a valuable option in the work place. Workers can learn to choose healthier food options such as whole grains, fruits, and vegetables and minimize refined grains, including such food staples as white rice and noodles. One study found that nutrition education in the work place has been associated with such benefits as reductions in body weight, waist size, total cholesterol, and fasting glucose concentrations.3 Another study found nutritional counseling resulted in lower sodium intake and blood pressure.4 Knowing what’s healthy to eat is an important first step in helping to improve employee’s diets.
 
2. Increasing access to healthy foods at the work place gives employees an opportunity to put what they have learned about healthy eating into practice. These foods should be widely available, affordable, and attractively presented to encourage good habits. Studies have shown that combining dietary counseling along with increased access to healthy food options have provided many benefits to employees, including significant reductions in body weight.5,6
 
3. Provide exercise opportunities at work. Research has shown that small stints of physical activity can confer substantial benefits for heart health and for the reduction of stress.7 Furthermore, short periods of exercise reduce the risk of physical injury. These findings suggest that, when promoted strategically, short phases of physical activity would be feasible and appealing to sedentary individuals at the work place and provide significant health benefits.7 For one, employers can encourage employees to take the stairs instead of taking the elevator.
 
4. Encourage exercise outside of work. Employers can additionally cooperate with commercial fitness entities and offer discounts for gym memberships. They can also provide incentives to employees to try biking or walking to work whenever possible. A growing body of research suggests that physical activity also improves cognitive function, particularly frontal lobe-mediated cognitive processes, such as planning, scheduling, and working memory,8 all of which can help improve work performance.
 
5. Improve the work space. One effective intervention in a workplace in Malaysia included putting water coolers and weighing scales in the office.9 The former promoted drinking water instead of sugary drinks, and the latter provided encouragement for workers to maintain a healthy weight. These changes were part of an intervention program which helped to reduce serum cholesterol levels in the workforce.9
 
By incorporating the above recommendations, employers can make the workplace a healthier environment, which will improve the health of employees, encourage productivity, and be beneficial for all involved.
 
References:
2 Stephenson W. Who works the longest hours? http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-18144319. Published May 23, 2012. Accessed March 6, 2014.
5 Ni Mhurchu C, Aston LM, Jebb SA. Effects of worksite health promotion interventions on employee diets: a systematic review. BMC Public Health. 2010;10:62.
6 Verweij LM, Coffeng J, van Mechelen W, Proper KI. Meta-analyses of workplace physical activity and dietary behaviour interventions on weight outcomes. Obes Rev. 2011;12(6):406-429.
7 Barr-Anderson DJ, AuYoung M, Whitt-Glover MC, Glenn BA, Yancey AK. Integration of short bouts of physical activity into organizational routine a systematic review of the literature. Am J Prev Med. 2011;40(1):76-93.
9 Moy F, Sallam AA, Wong M. The results of a worksite health promotion programme in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Health Promot Int. 2006;21(4):301-310.