健康的家庭環境

給家居的小技巧

對於孩子及其父母

父母和監護人通過促進孩子對某些食物的獲取,限制對其他食物的獲取,以及制定有關哪些食物行為是允許的準則,在決定孩子早期的食物經歷中發揮至關重要的作用。1-2 此外,父母的食物偏好(包括對某些食物的行為和態度)也會影響孩子的偏好。1

儘管家庭環境在兒童的飲食行為中的作用仍是正在研究的領域,但目前已確定一些有希望的方法: 

1. 可獲得性和獲取:增加家中食物(例如水果和蔬菜)的可獲得性1, 3-4 與孩子攝取更多食物有關。在家中為孩子提供各種健康的食物和飲料選擇,可以改善孩子的進食行為。5

2. 父母模範作用:孩子通過模仿學習。當父母示範期望的行為時,例如吃全穀類 6 或水果和蔬菜3-4 這樣可以激發孩子也採取這些行為。

3. 父母教養方式:研究已發現權威型餵養方式與更健康的飲食行為、不健康食物的攝取量減少以及超重風險降低有關。7-8 這種餵養方式的特點是父母介入和支持,伴以合適的食物結構。權威型父母採用以孩子為中心的方法,例如與孩子講道理、與孩子討論,以及當涉及到進餐時間和點心時間時給孩子一些選擇。9

較放縱的餵養方式與飲食行為較差和超重風險較高有關,這種方式的特點是對孩子所吃食物的種類或數量很少進行限制。

專制的餵養方式也引起了關注,因為這種方式可能妨礙兒童關注飢餓和飽腹的內部信號,這種方式的特點是父母嚴格控制孩子的食物選擇。7 這種方式可能潛在降低兒童隨著年齡增長的自我調節食物攝取的能力,從而導致他們更容易受到負面環境輸入的傷害,例如過大份量的可獲得性和不健康食品的廣告。

4. 進餐時間結構:進餐時間結構的幾個方面與兒童的飲食行為改善和維持健康體重有關,例如,與家人一起進餐10 有規律地吃早餐、11-12 以及少外出吃飯11, 13

5. 屏幕時間:花大量時間看電視或玩視頻遊戲的兒童和青少年超重的風險可能較高。14-15 美國兒科學會 (American Academy of Pediatrics) 建議兒童每天的屏幕時間不超過 2小時。對於 2 歲以下的兒童,應完全避免接觸屏幕媒體。16

6. 養成良好的睡眠習慣:兒童睡眠時間短(每晚不足8至11小時,具體取決於兒童的年齡)與體重增加有關。17 睡眠時間不足可能打亂身體調節飢餓和食慾的能力。這還會增加疲勞感,從而可能降低孩子的活動水平。17 美國國家睡眠基金會 (National Sleep Foundation) 建議學齡前兒童每晚睡 11-13 小時,5 至 12 歲的兒童每晚睡 10-11 小時。18

對於成人

飲食和生活模式在全球各地已經改變。人們通常過著少吃健康的食物,活動較少的生活。然而,一個人在家中有許多控制體重的選擇, 邁向更健康的生活。

以下是改善您家庭環境的建議:

1. 儲存各種健康的食物。購買水果和蔬菜、全穀類(例如,糙米和大麥)以及健康的蛋白質來源(雞肉、魚肉、豆類、豆腐和堅果)。此外,購買健康的食用油(橄欖油、芥花籽油和其他植物油),避免棕櫚油、椰子油和部分氫化油。讓健康食物容易獲得可以促使養成健康的飲食習慣。查看哈佛健康飲食餐盤,了解有關如何規劃健康平衡膳食的更多訊息。

2. 限制購買熱量高,營養低的食物,尤其是含糖飲料和加工的零食(例如,薯條,其鈉含量也高)。人們的飲食習慣受到可獲得什麼東西的影響,因此在家中限制不健康的食物可以幫助改善飲食習慣。 

3. 在家煮食。人們為自己和家人所煮食的飯菜通常比現成或方便食物健康。19

4. 避免不吃早餐。不吃早餐可能增加胰島素抵抗性 20 和糖尿病風險,21 可能對您的心臟有害。22 吃早餐還可以幫助預防體重增加。23

5. 在家中運動。體力活動有很多好處,包括有助于控制體重、降低罹患許多疾病的風險(包括心臟病和某些癌症)、強化骨骼和肌肉、改善心理健康,以及增加長壽的機會。24 在家中運動可以使運動更容易,更方便。

製作各種形式的心肺運動、瑜伽、跳舞、氣功和太極視頻供在家使用,其中許多是為初學者製作的,有些甚至可以在線免費獲得。

有些人可能會發現家中有運動器材很有用。您可以用一對啞鈴和一條啞鈴凳進行完整的全身鍛煉。購買家用器材比健身房會員花費少,且可以充當堅持運動的提醒物。

不習慣於經常運動的人,應從輕度運動開始,并嘗試每周進行更多體力活動。常常練習,運動就會變得更容易。與其他人一起運動可能有用,例如,在晚餐後與您的家人一起散步。

6. 保持充足的睡眠。保持充足的睡眠對於健康和維持健康的體重而言非常重要。17 在固定的時間睡覺可能有助于保持良好的睡眠習慣。25

7. 限制屏幕時間。限制屏幕時間(尤其是看電視時間)會促使人們多花時間進行體力活動,少花時間坐著吃零食。已經證明,電視上的食物廣告會對飲食習慣產生有害的影響,26 因為電視上播放的廣告包括許多營養價值低的食物。

參考文獻:
1 Van Lippevelde W, te Velde SJ, Verloigne M, et al. Associations between home- and family-related factors and fruit juice and soft drink intake among 10- to 12-year old children. The ENERGY project. Appetite. 2013;61(1):59-65.
2 Johnson R, Welk G, Saint-Maurice PF, Ihmels M. Parenting styles and home obesogenic environmentsInt J Environ Res Public Health. 2012;9(4):1411-1426.
3 Pearson N, Biddle SJ, Gorely T. Family correlates of fruit and vegetable consumption in children and adolescents: a systematic reviewPublic Health Nutr. 2009;12(2):267-283.
5 Hang CM, Lin W, Yang HC, Pan WH. The relationship between snack intake and its availability of 4th-6th graders in TaiwanAsia Pac J Clin Nutr. 2007;16 Suppl 2:547-553.
6 Burgess-Champoux TL, Chan HW, Rosen R, Marquart L, Reicks M. Healthy whole-grain choices for children and parents: a multi-component school-based pilot interventionPublic Health Nutr. 2008;11(8):849-859.
9 Hughes SO, Power TG, Orlet Fisher J, Mueller S, Nicklas TA. Revisiting a neglected construct: parenting styles in a child-feeding contextAppetite. 2005;44(1):83-92.
11 Tin SPP, Ho SY, Mak KH, Wan KL, Lam TH. Location of breakfast consumption predicts body mass index change in young Hong Kong childrenInt J Obes (Lond). 2012;36(7):925-930.
13 Lachat C, Nago E, Verstraeten R, Roberfroid D, Van Camp J, Kolsteren P. Eating out of home and its association with dietary intake: a systematic review of the evidenceObes Rev. 2012;13(4):329-346.
15 Sugimori H, Yoshida K, Izuno T, et al. Analysis of factors that influence body mass index from ages 3 to 6 years: A study based on the Toyama cohort studyPediatr Int. 2004;46(3):302-310.
16 Media and Children. American Pediatrics Association Web site. http://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Pages/Media-and-Children.aspx.
17 Patel SR, Hu FB. Short sleep duration and weight gain: a systematic review. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2008;16(3):643-653.
18 Children and Sleep. National Sleep Foundation Web site. http://www.sleepfoundation.org/article/sleep-topics/children-and-sleep.
19 Jabs J, Devine CM. Time scarcity and food choices: an overviewAppetite. 2006;47(2):196-204.
20 Farshchi HR, Taylor MA, Macdonald IA. Deleterious effects of omitting breakfast on insulin sensitivity and fasting lipid profiles in healthy lean womenAm J Clin Nutr. 2005;81(2):388-396.
21 Mekary RA, Giovannucci E, Willett WC, van Dam RM, Hu FB. Eating patterns and type 2 diabetes risk in men: breakfast omission, eating frequency, and snackingAm J Clin Nutr. 2012;95(5):1182-1189.
22 Cahill LE, Chiuve SE, Mekary RA, et al. Prospective Study of Breakfast Eating and Incident Coronary Heart Disease in a Cohort of Male US Health ProfessionalsCirculation. 2013;128:337-343.
23 van der Heijden AA, Hu FB, Rimm EB, van Dam RM. A prospective study of breakfast consumption and weight gain among U.S. menObesity (Silver Spring). 2007;15(10):2463-2469.
25 Adopt Good Sleep Habits. Get Sleep: Harvard School of Medicine School Division of Sleep Medicine. http://healthysleep.med.harvard.edu/need-sleep/what-can-you-do/good-sleep-habits.
26 Harris JL, Bargh JA, Brownell KD. Priming effects of television food advertising on eating behavior. Health Psychol. 2009;28(4):404-413.

A Healthy Home Environment

Tips for Home

For Children and Their Parents
 
Parents and guardians play a crucial role in shaping children’s early food experiences by facilitating access to certain foods, limiting access to others, and setting guidelines on what food behaviors are permissible.1-2 Moreover, parents’ food preferences, including behaviors and attitudes towards certain foods, can also influence the child’s preferences.1
 
Although the role of home environments in children food behaviors is still an area of active investigation, several promising approaches have been identified:
 
1. Availability and access: Increasing the availability of foods such as fruits and vegetables1,3-4 at home has been associated with greater intake in children. Providing children with a variety of healthy food and beverage options at home can improve children's eating behaviors.5
 
2. Parent modelling: Children learn by imitation. When parents model desired behaviors, such as eating whole grains6 or fruits and vegetables,3-4 it can motivate the child to engage in these behaviors too.
 
3. Parenting style: An authoritative feeding style has been found to be associated with healthier eating behaviors, lower intake of unhealthy foods, and lower risk of being overweight.7-8 This feeding style is characterized by parental involvement and support, accompanied by a suitable level of structure. Authoritative parents use child-centric approaches, such as reasoning with their children, having discussions with them, and giving their children some choices when it comes to meal time and snack time.9
 
More indulgent feeding styles, characterized by placing few restrictions on the types or amounts of foods that the child eats, have been associated with poorer eating behaviors and higher risk of being overweight.
 
Concern has also been raised about very authoritarian feeding styles, characterized by strict parent control over their children’s food choices, as this style may prevent the child from paying attention to internal signals of hunger and satiety.7 This style may potentially reduce children’s ability to self-regulate food intake as they grow older, leading them to be more vulnerable to negative environmental input, such as the availability of overly large portion sizes and advertisements for unhealthy foods.
 
4. Mealtime structure: Several aspects of mealtime structure, such as eating meals together as a family,10 eating breakfast regularly,11-12 and eating fewer meals outside the home,11,13 have been linked to improved dietary behaviors and maintaining healthy weight in children.
 
5. Screen time: Children and teens that spend a lot of time watching television or playing video games may be at higher risk of becoming overweight.14-15 The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that children have no more than 2 hours per day of screen time. For children less than 2 years of age, exposure to screen media should be completely avoided.16
 
6. Developing good sleeping habits: Short sleep duration in children (less than 8 to less than 11 hours each night, depending on the age of the child) has been linked to weight gain.17 Not getting enough sleep may disturb the body’s ability to regulate hunger and appetite. It will also increase feelings of fatigue, which may decrease the child’s activity levels.17 The National Sleep Foundation recommends preschoolers get 11-13 hours of sleep each night and children aged 5 to 12 get 10-11 hours of sleep each night.18
 
For Adults
 
Dietary and lifestyle patterns have shifted throughout the world. People are generally eating less healthy diets and living less active lifestyles. Nonetheless, there are many opportunities in one’s home to make managing weight and leading a healthy lifestyle easier and more attainable.
 
The following are recommendations to improve your home environment:
 
1. Stock up on a variety of healthy foods. Purchase fruits and vegetables, whole grains (such as brown rice and barley), and healthy sources of protein (chicken, fish, beans, tofu, and nuts). Also purchase healthy oils for cooking (olive oil, canola oil, and other vegetable oils) and avoid palm oil, coconut oil, and partially hydrogenated oils. Having healthy food easily available encourages healthy eating habits. Take a look at the Harvard Healthy Eating Plate for more information on how to create healthy, balanced meals.
 
2. Limit purchase of foods that are high in calories, but low in nutrition, especially sugary beverages and processed snack foods (such as chips, which are also high in sodium). People’s dietary habits are influenced by what’s available to them, so limiting unhealthy foods in the home can help improve eating habits.
 
3. Cook meals at home. Meals people make for themselves and their families are generally healthier than ready-made or convenience foods.19
 
4. Avoid skipping breakfast. Skipping breakfast may increase insulin resistance20 and diabetes risk,21 and it may be bad for your heart.22 Eating breakfast may also help prevent weight gain.23
 
5. Exercise at home. Physical activity has many benefits, including helping to control weight, reducing the risk of many diseases (including heart disease and some cancers), strengthening bones and muscles, improving mental health, and increasing the chances of living longer.24 Exercising at home may make exercising easier and more convenient.
 
There are many videos available for various forms of cardio exercise, yoga, dancing, qigong, and tai chi made for use at home, many of which are made for beginners and some of which are even available online for free.
 
Some people may find having exercise equipment at home useful. You can do a full body work-out with a pair of dumbbells and an exercise bench. Purchasing home equipment can cost less than a gym membership and can serve as a reminder to keep active.
 
For people who are not accustomed to exercising regularly, start off slowly and try to be more physically active each week. Exercising gets easier when practiced more often. It may help to exercise with other people together, such as taking a walk with your family after dinner.
 
6. Get enough sleep. Getting enough sleep is very important for health and for maintaining a healthy weight.17 Going to bed at a regular time can be helpful in maintaining good sleep habits.25
 
7. Limit screen time. Limiting screen time (especially TV watching time) encourages people to spend more time being physically active and less time sitting down and snacking. Food advertising on television especially has been shown to have a detrimental effect on eating habits,26 as many of the foods advertised on television are low in nutritional value.
 
References:
1 Van Lippevelde W, te Velde SJ, Verloigne M, et al. Associations between home- and family-related factors and fruit juice and soft drink intake among 10- to 12-year old children. The ENERGY project. Appetite. 2013;61(1):59-65.
2 Johnson R, Welk G, Saint-Maurice PF, Ihmels M. Parenting styles and home obesogenic environments. Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2012;9(4):1411-1426.
3 Pearson N, Biddle SJ, Gorely T. Family correlates of fruit and vegetable consumption in children and adolescents: a systematic review. Public Health Nutr. 2009;12(2):267-283.
5 Hang CM, Lin W, Yang HC, Pan WH. The relationship between snack intake and its availability of 4th-6th graders in Taiwan. Asia Pac J Clin Nutr. 2007;16 Suppl 2:547-553.
6 Burgess-Champoux TL, Chan HW, Rosen R, Marquart L, Reicks M. Healthy whole-grain choices for children and parents: a multi-component school-based pilot intervention. Public Health Nutr. 2008;11(8):849-859.
9 Hughes SO, Power TG, Orlet Fisher J, Mueller S, Nicklas TA. Revisiting a neglected construct: parenting styles in a child-feeding context. Appetite. 2005;44(1):83-92.
11 Tin SPP, Ho SY, Mak KH, Wan KL, Lam TH. Location of breakfast consumption predicts body mass index change in young Hong Kong children. Int J Obes (Lond). 2012;36(7):925-930.
13 Lachat C, Nago E, Verstraeten R, Roberfroid D, Van Camp J, Kolsteren P. Eating out of home and its association with dietary intake: a systematic review of the evidence. Obes Rev. 2012;13(4):329-346.
16 Media and Children. American Pediatrics Association Web site. http://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Pages/Media-and-Children.aspx.
17 Patel SR, Hu FB. Short sleep duration and weight gain: a systematic review. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2008;16(3):643-653.
18 Children and Sleep. National Sleep Foundation Web site. http://www.sleepfoundation.org/article/sleep-topics/children-and-sleep.
19 Jabs J, Devine CM. Time scarcity and food choices: an overview. Appetite. 2006;47(2):196-204.
20 Farshchi HR, Taylor MA, Macdonald IA. Deleterious effects of omitting breakfast on insulin sensitivity and fasting lipid profiles in healthy lean women. Am J Clin Nutr. 2005;81(2):388-396.
21 Mekary RA, Giovannucci E, Willett WC, van Dam RM, Hu FB. Eating patterns and type 2 diabetes risk in men: breakfast omission, eating frequency, and snacking. Am J Clin Nutr. 2012;95(5):1182-1189.
23 van der Heijden AA, Hu FB, Rimm EB, van Dam RM. A prospective study of breakfast consumption and weight gain among U.S. men. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2007;15(10):2463-2469.
25 Adopt Good Sleep Habits. Get Sleep: Harvard School of Medicine School Division of Sleep Medicine. http://healthysleep.med.harvard.edu/need-sleep/what-can-you-do/good-sleep-habits.
26 Harris JL, Bargh JA, Brownell KD. Priming effects of television food advertising on eating behavior. Health Psychol. 2009;28(4):404-413.