多運動、走路或騎腳踏車上班,少看電視

多動,少坐

交通工具的變化和看電視時間的增加使亞洲的生活方式變得越來越久坐不動。久坐或不活動會增加罹患2型糖尿病的風險。持城市定期票乘客開始了開車上班代替騎腳踏車,從而減少走路或騎腳踏車的時間。在印度,過去十年中,擁有汽車的人數每年增加 11%。1 在中國,1989年與1997年之間擁有汽車的男性的體重增加1.8公斤,肥胖的風險比沒有購買汽車的人高兩倍。2 中國全國營養與健康調查報告,在過去15年內,中國成人的平均每周體力活動水平降低 32%,主要是由於轉向久坐形式的工作,例如辦公室工作。2

在各種久坐行為中,看電視與罹患2型糖尿病的風險最高有關。3 在護士健康研究中,看電視的時間每多花 2 小時與糖尿病風險增加14%有關,而每天每多一小時的快走與風險降低 34%有關。2 看電視導致長時間坐著不動,不僅降低能量消耗,還與食物和能量攝取增加有關,原因是不健康的飲食模式以及加工零食的攝取量增加。為了幫助預防糖尿病,請將日常運動融入您的生活中,嘗試走路或騎腳踏車上班,少看電視。

參考文獻:

1 Chan JCN, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and PathophysiologyJAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
2 Hu, FB. Globalization of diabetes: The role of diet, lifestyle, and genesDiabetes Care. 2011;34(6):1249-1257.
3 Nang EE, Salim A, Wu Y, Tai ES, Lee J, Van Dam RM. Television screen time, but not computer use and reading time, is associated with cardio-metabolic biomarkers in a multiethnic Asian population: a cross-sectional study. Int J Behav Nutr Phys Act. 2013;10:70.

Get More Exercise, Walk or Bike to Work, and Watch Less TV

Move More, Sit Less

Changing modes of transportation and increased television watching have made lifestyles in Asia more and more sedentary. Being sedentary, or inactive, increases the risk of developing type 2 diabetes. Urban commuters have started taking cars to work instead of bicycles, decreasing the amount of time spent walking or bike-riding. In each year of the last decade in India, there has been an 11 percent increase in the number of people who own cars.1 In China, men who owned cars between 1989 and 1997 gained 1.8 kg more weight and had twice the risk of becoming obese than those who did not purchase a car.2 Chinese National Health and Nutrition Surveys report that average weekly physical activity levels among Chinese adults dropped 32 percent over 15 years, mainly because of the shift to more sedentary forms of work, such as office work.2

Among various sedentary behaviors, watching television has been associated with the highest risk for type 2 diabetes.3 Every two extra hours spent watching TV was associated with a 14 percent increase in diabetes risk in the Nurses’ Health Study, whereas every extra hour a day of brisk walking was associated with a 34 percent reduction in risk.2 Watching TV not only decreases energy expenditure by causing prolonged periods of sitting, but is also associated with greater food and energy intake due to unhealthy eating patterns and increased consumption of processed snack foods. To help prevent diabetes, incorporate a daily exercise routine into your life, try walking or biking to work, and watch less television.

 

References:

1 Chan JCN, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and Pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
2 Hu, FB. Globalization of diabetes: The role of diet, lifestyle, and genes. Diabetes Care. 2011;34(6):1249-1257.
3 Nang EE, Salim A, Wu Y, Tai ES, Lee J, Van Dam RM. Television screen time, but not computer use and reading time, is associated with cardio-metabolic biomarkers in a multiethnic Asian population: a cross-sectional study. Int J Behav Nutr Phys Act. 2013;10:70.