亞洲飲食:健康益處和風險

強調有益於健康的選擇

當談及糖尿病時,傳統亞洲飲食有一些健康益處,也有一些風險。

亞洲飲食的益處:

  • 綠茶
  • 豐富多樣的蔬菜和水果
  • 香料
  • 紅肉攝取量低
  • 豆類和堅果
  • 魚肉和海產食物
  • 水果作為甜點
  • 全穀類
  • 控制份量的習慣
  • 大豆攝取量

研究支持傳統亞洲飲食的有益方面。在日本進行的研究將不加糖綠茶與2型糖尿病風險降低聯結起來。1 傳統亞洲菜餚包括許多“十字花科”蔬菜,例如花椰菜、卷心菜、水芹、白菜和西蘭花,這些與各種疾病的風險降低有關。2 在印度進行的一項研究中,即使每周吃 3 份以上的綠葉蔬菜也與罹患心臟病的風險大幅降低有關。 3 大豆在亞洲飲食中也很普遍,例如豆奶、湯或豆腐,它們在某種程度上可以取代紅肉和加工肉製品作為蛋白質來源。一個世紀以前,全穀類(例如糙米和大麥)在亞洲飲食中較為普遍,這類食物具有健康益處和較低的血糖負荷。根據一項總結所有可用研究的薈萃分析可知,全穀類攝取量每天增加兩份與糖尿病風險降低 21% 有關。4

亞洲飲食的風險:

  • 白米及其他細糧
  • 使用動物脂肪和棕櫚油
  • 包裝上沒有標示 不健康的反式脂肪(零食、酥油等)5
  • 甜食和零食的含糖量高
  • 茶或咖啡所加的糖太多
  • 鹽太多
  • 過度食用醃製食物(例如醃漬蔬菜和醃製肉類)

遺憾的是,目前亞洲的飲食將白米飯作為主食。在亞洲,白米飯所提供的能量佔總能量的大約30%。5 在中國和日本進行的研究中,高血糖指數或負荷的食物(例如,白米飯)攝入量高使罹患2型糖尿病的風險加倍。6 糙米應該是方便健康的替代品,然而試驗表明,儘管糙米本身有吸引人的味道,但一些人認為糙米比白米粗糙,味道沒那麼好。7

鹽是在亞洲飲食中另一個攝入過量的部分。身體每天需要230-460毫克鈉,但亞洲人平均每天攝取超過4600毫克。在日本和中國,在家中煮食或用餐時,添加的醬油和鹽是飲食中鈉的主要來源。8 亞洲農村地區的人通常還依靠用鹽醃作為食物保存的方法,這也導致鹽攝取量過多。9 減少鹽攝取量可以降低血壓,高血壓在糖尿病前期或糖尿病患者中通常較高。10

糖也是當代亞洲飲食中日益嚴重的問題。除了西方含糖飲料的湧入,亞洲飲食如今也包括各種含有高熱量和高糖分的大份量茶,例如印度香茶或珍珠茶。這與古老的傳統亞洲飲食不同,後者不含大量加糖的飲料和甜點,而是選擇強調源自草本植物、水果和蔬菜的天然香料。

當前亞洲飲食也將不健康的油用於煮食,如那些含有反式脂肪和動物脂肪的油。在亞洲,由於延長保質期的能力,反式脂肪在包裝食品中的含量也越來越高,然而還沒有法律要求將反式脂肪含量披露給公眾。反式脂肪攝取量較高與體重增加、心血管風險增加和胰島素抵抗性增加有關。6

除了其健康益處和風險之外,隨著食物環境變得更加工業化和都市化,亞洲傳統飲食模式卻漸漸流失。越來越多的人在吃包括西方快餐的飲食。盛行的西方快餐連鎖店(例如麥當勞和肯德基)的消極方面包括:

  • 紅肉
  • 加工肉製品
  • 精製碳水化合物
  • 高果糖玉米糖漿和加糖
  • 含糖飲料
  • 油炸食物(炸薯條、雞肉,等)
  • 份量大
  • 向兒童銷售不健康食物
  • 反式脂肪不受管制 11

除了西方快餐之外,在外面可以買到的現代版本的各種亞洲食物含有不健康的成分。這些食物可能含有大量細糧(白米飯、麵條)、飽和脂肪含量高的食用油(例如棕櫚油和酥油)、紅肉和鈉。 這些食物中更多健康成分(例如蔬菜、水果和全穀類)的含量一般較低。

含糖飲料是特別大的常見風險因素。每天喝加糖飲料會增加罹患2型糖尿病的風險。在一項研究中,加糖飲料攝入量高(每天1-2份)的人罹患2型糖尿病的風險比喝很少或不喝含糖飲料的人高26%。4 諸如蘇打水、果汁或能量飲料的含糖飲料會導致血糖和胰島素水平迅速升高。12 正因為這樣,加糖飲料甚至可以獨立地增加您體重增加的風險。

遺憾的是,加糖飲料在亞洲是不受管制的日益興旺的市場。在印度,所有加糖飲料銷量的平均年增長率在過去十年(1997-2007年)為12.6%。13 對中國成人進行的一項橫面研究表明,20%的男性每天喝兩至三種加糖飲料。13

參考文獻:

1 Iso H, Date C, Wakai K, Fukui M, Tamakoshi A. The relationship between green tea and total caffeine intake and risk for self-reported type 2 diabetes among Japanese adultsAnn Intern Med. 2006;144(8):554-562.
2 Zhang X, Shu XO, Xiang YB, et al. Cruciferous vegetable consumption is associated with a reduced risk of total and cardiovascular disease mortalityAm J Clin Nutr. 2011;94(1):240-246.
3 Rastogi T, Reddy KS, Vaz M, et al. Diet and risk of ischemic heart disease in IndiaAm J Clin Nutr. 2004;79(4):582-592.
4 Hu, FB. Globalization of diabetes: The role of diet, lifestyle, and genesDiabetes Care. 2011;34(6):1249-1257.
5 Hu FB, Liu Y, Willett WC. Preventing chronic diseases by promoting healthy diet and lifestyle: public policy implications for ChinaObes Rev. 2011;12(7):552-559.
6 Chan JCN, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and PathophysiologyJAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
7 Zhang G, Malik VS, Pan A, et al. Substituting brown rice for white rice to lower diabetes risk: a focus-group study in Chinese adultsJ Am Diet Assoc. 2010;110:1216-1221.
8 Brown IJ, Tzoulaki I, Candeias V, Elliott P. Salt intakes around the world: implications for public healthInt J Epidemiol. 2009;38(3):791-813.
9 World Cancer Research Fund / American Institute for Cancer Research. Food, Nutrition, Physical Activity, and the Prevention of Cancer: a Global Perspective. Washington DC: AICR, 2007.
10 Chen J, Gu D, Huang J, et al. Metabolic syndrome and salt sensitivity of blood pressure in non-diabetic people in China: a dietary intervention studyLancet. 2009;373(9666):829-835.
11 Pan A, Malik VS, Hu FB. Exporting diabetes mellitus to Asia: the impact of Western-style fast foodCirculation. 2012;126(2):163-165.
12 Odegaard AO, Koh WP, Arakawa K, Yu MC, Pereira MA. Soft drink and juice consumption and risk of physician-diagnosed incident type 2 diabetes: the Singapore Chinese Health StudyAm J Epidemiol. 2010;171(6):701-708.
13 Malik V, Willett WC, Hu FB. Global obesity: trends, risk factors and policy implicationsNat Rev Endocrinol. 2013;9(1):13-27.

Asian Diets: Health Benefits and Risks

Emphasize Healthy Choices

Traditional Asian diets have some health benefits as well as some risks when it comes to diabetes.

Asian Diet Benefits:
•Green tea
•Rich variety of vegetables and fruits
•Spices
•Low red meat consumption
•Beans and nuts
•Fish and seafood
•Fruits as dessert
•Whole grains
•Tradition of controlling portion size
•Soy consumption

Research has supported beneficial aspects of traditional Asian diets. Studies in Japan have associated unsweetened green tea with a decreased risk of type 2 diabetes.1 Traditional Asian dishes include many “cruciferous” vegetables like cauliflower, cabbage, cress, bok choy, and broccoli, which are associated with a reduced risk of various diseases.2 In one study in India, even eating 3 more servings of green leafy vegetables a week was associated with substantially lower risk of heart disease.3 Soybeans are also prevalent in Asian diets, whether in soymilk, soup, or tofu, and they can, in part, replace red and processed meats as a source of protein. Whole grains such as brown rice and barley, which were more prevalent in Asian diets a century ago, also offer health benefits and a lower glycemic load. According to one meta-analysis summarizing all available studies, an increase of two servings a day of whole grain intake is associated with a 21 percent lower risk of diabetes.4

Asian Diet Risks:

•White rice and other refined grains
•Use of animal fat and palm oil
•Unhealthy trans fats (in snacks, butter, etc.) are not labeled on packages5
•Sweets and snacks high in sugar
•Tea or coffee with too much added sugar
•Too much salt
•Excessive consumption of preserved foods (such as pickled vegetables and cured meats)
 

Unfortunately, current Asian diets have white rice as a main staple. White rice contributes approximately 30 percent of energy to diets in Asia.5 In studies in China and Japan, a high intake of foods with a high glycemic index or load, such as white rice, doubled the risk of type 2 diabetes.6 Brown rice should be an easy and healthy substitute, but trials have shown that some people perceive brown rice as rougher and less tasty than white rice,7 despite brown rice’s own appealing flavor.

Salt is another major part of Asian diets that is consumed in excess. The body needs 230-460 mg per day of sodium, and Asians average more than 4600 mg per day. In Japan and China, soy sauce and salt added at home, either while cooking or at the table, were the largest sources of sodium in the diet.8 Rural communities in Asia often also rely on salting as a method of food preservation, which also contributes to excessive salt intake.9 Reducing salt intake can lower blood pressure, which is often high in persons with pre-diabetes or diabetes.10

Sugar is also a growing problem in contemporary Asian diets. In addition to the influx of Western sugary drinks, Asian diets now also include a variety of teas, such as chai or bubble tea, that pack many calories and grams of sugar in large serving sizes. This is a change from older, traditional Asian diets, which did not contain heavily sweetened drinks and desserts, instead choosing to emphasize natural flavors from herbs, fruits, and vegetables.

Current Asian diets also incorporate unhealthy oils into cooking, such as those containing trans fat and animal fat. Trans fats are also increasingly part of packaged foods in Asia due to their ability to prolong shelf life, yet there are no laws requiring trans fat content be disclosed to the public. Higher intake of trans fats has been associated with weight gain, increased cardiovascular risk, and insulin resistance.6

Beyond their health benefits and risks, Asian traditional dietary patterns are being lost as the food environment becomes more industrialized and urban. More and more people are eating a diet that includes Western fast food. Negative aspects of the popularity of Western fast food chains like McDonald’s and KFC include:
•Red meat
•Processed meat
•Refined carbohydrates
•High fructose corn syrup and added sugar
•Sugary drinks
•Fried foods (French fries, chicken, etc.)
•Large portion size
•Marketing of unhealthy food to children
•Unregulated trans fats11

In addition to Western fast food, modern versions of many Asian dishes available outside of the home include unhealthy ingredients. These dishes can be high in refined grains (white rice, noodles), cooking oils high in saturated fat (such as palm oil and ghee), red meat, and sodium.  These dishes often have low amounts of more healthy ingredients, including vegetables, fruits, and whole grains.

Sugary drinks are an especially large and prevalent risk factor. Drinking sugar-sweetened beverages daily increases the risk of type 2 diabetes. Individuals with a high intake of sugar-sweetened beverages in one study (1-2 servings a day) had a 26 percent greater risk of developing type 2 diabetes than those who drank little to no sugary drinks.4 Sugary drinks like sodas, juices, or energy drinks lead a rapid increase in blood glucose and insulin levels.12 For this reason, sugar-sweetened beverages can increase your risk even independently of weight gain.

Unfortunately, sugar-sweetened beverages are an unregulated, booming market in Asia. In India, the average annual growth rate for sales of all sugar-sweetened drinks was 12.6 percent over ten years (1997-2007).13 One cross-sectional study of adults in China showed that 20 percent of men drank two to three sugar-sweetened drinks a day.13

 

References:

1 Iso H, Date C, Wakai K, Fukui M, Tamakoshi A. The relationship between green tea and total caffeine intake and risk for self-reported type 2 diabetes among Japanese adults. Ann Intern Med. 2006;144(8):554-562.
2 Zhang X, Shu XO, Xiang YB, et al. Cruciferous vegetable consumption is associated with a reduced risk of total and cardiovascular disease mortality. Am J Clin Nutr. 2011;94(1):240-246.
3 Rastogi T, Reddy KS, Vaz M, et al. Diet and risk of ischemic heart disease in India. Am J Clin Nutr. 2004;79(4):582-592.
4 Hu, FB. Globalization of diabetes: The role of diet, lifestyle, and genes. Diabetes Care. 2011;34(6):1249-1257.
5 Hu FB, Liu Y, Willett WC. Preventing chronic diseases by promoting healthy diet and lifestyle: public policy implications for China. Obes Rev. 2011;12(7):552-559.
6 Chan JCN, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and Pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
7 Zhang G, Malik VS, Pan A, et al. Substituting brown rice for white rice to lower diabetes risk: a focus-group study in Chinese adults. J Am Diet Assoc. 2010;110:1216-1221.
8 Brown IJ, Tzoulaki I, Candeias V, Elliott P. Salt intakes around the world: implications for public health. Int J Epidemiol. 2009;38(3):791-813.
9 World Cancer Research Fund / American Institute for Cancer Research. Food, Nutrition, Physical Activity, and the Prevention of Cancer: a Global Perspective. Washington DC: AICR, 2007.
10 Chen J, Gu D, Huang J, et al. Metabolic syndrome and salt sensitivity of blood pressure in non-diabetic people in China: a dietary intervention study. Lancet. 2009;373(9666):829-835.
11 Pan A, Malik VS, Hu FB. Exporting diabetes mellitus to Asia: the impact of Western-style fast food. Circulation. 2012;126(2):163-165.
12 Odegaard AO, Koh WP, Arakawa K, Yu MC, Pereira MA. Soft drink and juice consumption and risk of physician-diagnosed incident type 2 diabetes: the Singapore Chinese Health Study. Am J Epidemiol. 2010;171(6):701-708.
13 Malik V, Willett WC, Hu FB. Global obesity: trends, risk factors and policy implications. Nat Rev Endocrinol. 2013;9(1):13-27.