細糧

建議:選用全穀類

您選擇吃的穀類會影響您罹患糖尿病的風險。全穀類含有可降低罹患2型糖尿病的風險的膳食纖維。1 例如糙米、全麥、全燕麥(也稱為脫殼燕麥)、藜麥、大麥和蜀黍草屬於全穀類。細糧(例如白米)更有可能使您的血糖水平迅速升高。2 多吃白米飯和經過加工的榖物或細糧與罹患2型糖尿病的風險增加有關。這在亞洲人群中尤為如此,亞洲人群往往食用大量白米飯。3 購買和準備糙米而非白米,全麥麵包而非精製白麵包,可以大幅降低您罹患 2 型糖尿病的風險。

除了選擇全穀類之外,在您吃的穀類和其他種類食物的數量之間取得平衡也可以幫助您實現健康的飲食和生活方式。查看哈佛健康飲食餐盤,了解有關如何規劃健康平衡膳食的更多訊息。

參考文獻:
1 Schulze MB, Schulz M, Heidemann C, Schienkiewitz A, Hoffmann K, Boeing H. Fiber and magnesium intake and incidence of type 2 diabetes: a prospective study and meta-analysis. Arch Intern Med. 2007;167:956-965.

Refined Grains

Recommendation: Go for Whole Grains

The grains you choose to eat affect your risk of diabetes. Whole grains contain dietary fiber that is associated with a decreased risk of type 2 diabetes.1 Examples of whole grains are brown rice, whole wheat, whole oats (also known as oat groats), quinoa, barley, and sorghum. Refined grains, such as white rice, are more likely to rapidly raise your blood glucose levels. Eating more white rice and processed or refined grains is associated with an increased risk of type 2 diabetes.2 This is especially true among Asian populations, which tend to consume large amounts of white rice.3 Buying and preparing brown rice instead of white rice, and whole wheat breads instead of refined white breads, can substantially lower your risk of type 2 diabetes.

In addition to opting for whole grains, obtaining a balance between the amounts of grains you eat and other types of food can also help you achieve a healthy diet and lifestyle.  Take a look at the Harvard Healthy Eating Plate for more information on how to create healthy, balanced meals.

References:
1 Schulze MB, Schulz M, Heidemann C, Schienkiewitz A, Hoffmann K, Boeing H. Fiber and magnesium intake and incidence of type 2 diabetes: a prospective study and meta-analysis. Arch Intern Med. 2007;167:956-965.