超重與肥胖

建議:密切注意您的體重

超重或肥胖會增加您罹患2型糖尿病的風險。您肥胖的持續時間越長,您罹患糖尿病的風險增加幅度越大。中心型肥胖是指您的腹部或腰部脂肪過多,這是2型糖尿病的重要預測因素。1 測量您腰部的距離(您的腰圍),更準確地預測糖尿病風險。2 即使您的體重指數正常,“蘋果形的身材”(腰部有過多脂肪)也會增加您罹患糖尿病的風險。您可以通過在髖骨與最低肋骨之間的身體中間(通常在肚臍水平位置)放置卷尺測量腰圍。

您的目標腰圍測量值為男性小於或等於 90 公分 (35.5 英寸),女性小於或等於 80 公分 (31.5 英寸)。3

我們還使用身高體重比(稱為體重指數 [BMI])來判定某人是否超重或肥胖。由於亞洲人往往在腰部儲存更多脂肪,在相同體重指數時,身體脂肪更多,4 因此亞洲人的體重指數範圍小於歐洲血統的人。參見下面的圖表來計算您的體重指數,判定您是超重還是肥胖,從而判定罹患2型糖尿病的較高風險。*

亞洲人的體重指數

請注意該體重指數圖表適用於亞洲大眾。不同國家定義超重和肥胖的範圍略有不同。(如果您喜歡用英尺/英寸和磅測量您的體重指數,請點擊此處。)

您可以吃較健康的食物將體力活動與您平常的日常事務相結合,從而控制體重。

參考文獻:
1 Ley SH, Schulze MB, Hivert MF, Meigs JB, Hu FB. “Risk Factors for Type 2 Diabetes.” Diabetes in America. In press.
3 BMI Calculator. Asian American Diabetes Initiative Web site. http://aadi.joslin.org/content/bmi-calculator. Accessed August 12, 2013.

Overweight and Obesity

Recommendation: Watch Your Weight

Being overweight or obese increases your risk of developing type 2 diabetes. The longer you remain obese, the more your diabetes risk increases. Central obesity, which is excess fat around your mid-section or waist, is a strong predictor of type 2 diabetes.1 Measure the distance around your waist (your waist circumference) to predict diabetes risk more accurately.2 Even if you have a normal BMI, an “apple-shaped body” (with excess fat around the waist) increases your diabetes risk. You can measure waist circumference by putting a tape measure around your body halfway between your hip bone and your lowest rib, usually at the level of your belly button.
 
Your target measurement for waist circumference should be less than or equal to 90 cm (35.5 in) for men and 80 cm (31.5 in) for women.3
 
We also use a height-weight ratio called body-mass index (BMI) to determine if someone is overweight or obese. Because Asians tend to store more fat around their waists and have more body fat for the same BMI,4 Asians have lower BMI cutoffs than for people of European ancestry. See the chart below to calculate your BMI and determine if you are overweight or obese and therefore at higher risk for type 2 diabetes.*
  Body Mass Index (BMI) for Asians
* Please note that this BMI chart is for a general Asian audience. Different countries have slightly different cut-offs to define overweight and obesity. (Click here if you would prefer to measure your BMI using feet/inches and pounds.)
 
You can control your weight by eating a healthier diet and by incorporating physical activity into your normal routine.
 
References:
1 Ley SH, Schulze MB, Hivert MF, Meigs JB, Hu FB. “Risk Factors for Type 2 Diabetes.” Diabetes in America. In press.
3 BMI Calculator. Asian American Diabetes Initiative Web site. http://aadi.joslin.org/content/bmi-calculator. Accessed August 12, 2013.