遺傳與早期生活影響

建議:提早開始預防

2 型糖尿病家族史與罹患該病的風險增加有關。1 如果直繫親屬(父母或兄弟姐妹)患有 2 型糖尿病,您被認為有較高的風險罹患糖尿病。儘管許多基因變異已與罹患2型糖尿病的風險增加有關,但是這些基因的作用輕微,只能解釋小部分糖尿病病例。一項重要研究(稱為糖尿病預防計劃)表明,雖然基因是罹患2型糖尿病的風險因素,但是在生活方式方面作出適當改變可降低遺傳風險。2

您的成長環境也會影響您罹患糖尿病的風險。暴露於環境污染和砷會增加您的風險。3 在同一個家庭的成員中,風險通常會增加,因為他們共享與相同環境的相互作用。

亞洲女性罹患妊娠期糖尿病的風險是白人女性的兩倍或三倍。3 如果孕婦患上妊娠期糖尿病,生下來的孩子更有可能出生體重高,在兒童時期超重,在成年早期葡萄糖耐量降低。這些是增加糖尿病風險的所有因素。4-10 這個孩子(若為女孩)長大後在懷孕時會患有妊娠期糖尿病,導致糖尿病循環,這個循環必須通過預防來打破。 

此外,懷孕時患有妊娠期糖尿病的母親在分娩後五年內有差不多 50% 的風險罹患 2 型糖尿病。11 因此,如果您是過去五年內患過妊娠期糖尿病的母親,您應監督您的飲食和體力活動,並定期接受 2 型糖尿病篩查,這點更為重要。您可以在我們的姐妹網站 《肥胖預防資料來源》(The Obesity Prevention Source)閱讀有關妊娠期糖尿病的更多信息。

如果您已經懷孕,不建議執行減肥計劃,但是預防懷孕期間過度體重增加很重要。如果您在計劃懷孕,減去過多脂肪和維持健康的孕前體重可以降低您罹患妊娠期糖尿病的風險,以及您的孩子今後罹患2型糖尿病的風險。在作出任何健康決定之前,請咨詢醫療保健專業人員。

此外,出生體重與糖尿病風險之間呈U形關係,表明出生體重異常輕或重的新生兒罹患糖尿病的風險較高。12 根據將出生體重與糖尿病風險關聯起來的研究可知,2.5 公斤至 4 公斤是最佳範圍,低于或高於該範圍會增加罹患糖尿病的風險。13-14

在飢荒時期出生或受孕的嬰兒今後罹患糖尿病的風險也可能增加。這稱為“節約表型”假說。15 該理論認為,一個人出生時的代謝已經適應了依靠較少的熱量生存,適應了營養缺乏的環境,因此當環境隨著人長大而變化時,會對健康產生負面影響。這通過針對在 1944 年持續至1945年的飢荒期在荷蘭出生的人,以及在1959年持續至1961年的大飢荒中,在中國出生的人進行的研究中得到證實。16-17 如果環境和社會經濟因素變化,讓一個生在飢荒中的人後來經歷豐富得多的營養環境,研究表明,罹患糖尿病的風險更大。11

參考文獻:
1 Ahlqvist E, Ahluwalia TS, Groop L. Genetics of type 2 diabetes. Clin Chem. 2011;57:241-254.
3 Chan JCN, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and Pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
4 Reece EA, Leguizamón G, Wiznitzer A. Gestational diabetes: the need for a common ground. Lancet. 2009;373:1789-1797.
6 Silverman BL, Metzger BE, Cho NH, Loeb CA. Impaired glucose tolerance in adolescent offspring of diabetic mothers: relationship to fetal hyperinsulinism. Diabetes Care. 1995;18:611-617.
7 Getahun D, Nath C, Ananth CV, Chavez MR, Smulian JC. Gestational diabetes in the United States: temporal trends 1989 through 2004. Am J Obstet Gynecol. 2008;198:525.e521-e525.
8 Dabelea D, Snell-Bergeon JK, Hartsfield CL, Bischoff KJ, Hamman RF, McDuffie RS. Increasing prevalence of gestational diabetes mellitus (GDM) over time and by birth cohort: Kaiser Permanente of Colorado GDM Screening Program. Diabetes Care. 2005;28:579-584.
10 Ferrara A, Kahn HS, Quesenberry CP, Riley C, Hedderson MM. An increase in the incidence of gestational diabetes mellitus: Northern California, 1991-2000. Obstet Gynecol. 2004;103:526-533.
11 Ley SH, Schulze MB, Hivert MF, Meigs JB, Hu FB. “Risk Factors for Type 2 Diabetes.” Diabetes in America. In press.
13 Harder T, Rodekamp E, Schellong K, Dudenhausen JW, Plagemann A. Birth weight and subsequent risk of type 2 diabetes: a meta-analysis. Am J Epidemiol. 2007;165:849-857.
14 Whincup PH, Kaye SJ, Owen CG, et al. Birth weight and risk of type 2 diabetes: a systematic review. JAMA. 2008;300:2886-2897.
15 Hu, FB. Globalization of diabetes: The role of diet, lifestyle, and genes. Diabetes Care. 2011;34(6):1249-1257.
16 Ravelli ACJ, van der Meulen JHP, Michels RPJ, et al. Glucose tolerance in adults after prenatal exposure to famine. Lancet. 1998;351:173-177.

Genetics and Early Life Influences

Recommendation: Start Prevention Early

Family history of type 2 diabetes is linked with an increased risk of developing the disease.1 If an immediate relative (a parent or sibling) has type 2 diabetes, you are considered at a higher risk of developing diabetes. Although many genetic variants have been associated with increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes, the effects of these genes are modest and explain only a small portion of diabetes cases. One major study, called the Diabetes Prevention Program, showed that even though genes were a risk factor for developing type 2 diabetes, making appropriate changes in one’s lifestyle decreased genetic risk.2
 
Where you grow up also influences your risk of developing diabetes. Exposure to environmental pollution and arsenic increases your risk.3 Risk often can increase among members of the same family because of their shared interaction with the same environment.
 
Asian women have double or triple the risk of white women of developing gestational diabetes.3 If a pregnant woman gets gestational diabetes, the child born is more likely to have a high birth weight, to be overweight in childhood, and to have impaired glucose tolerance during early adulthood. These are all factors that increase diabetes risk.4-10 This child, if a girl, may grow up to have gestational diabetes herself when pregnant, leading to a cycle of diabetes that must be broken through intervention.
 
Additionally, a mother who had gestational diabetes during pregnancy has nearly a 50 percent risk of developing type 2 diabetes for five years after giving birth.11 So, if you are a mother who has had gestational diabetes during the last five years, it is even more important that you monitor your diet and physical activity and get regularly screened for type 2 diabetes. Read more about gestational diabetes at our sister site, the Obesity Prevention Source.
 
If you are already pregnant, it is not advisable to go on a weight loss program, but it is important to prevent excessive weight gain during pregnancy. If you are planning on getting pregnant, losing excess fat and maintaining a healthy pre-pregnancy weight can decrease your risk of gestational diabetes and your child’s risk of type 2 diabetes later in life. Check with a health care professional before making any health decisions.
 
Moreover, there is a U-shaped relationship between birth weight and diabetes risk, indicating that a newborn with an abnormally low or high birth weight is at higher risk for diabetes.12 Based on studies relating birth weight to diabetes risk, 2.5 kg to 4 kg is the optimal range, and lower or higher than that range increases the risk of developing diabetes.13-14
 
A baby who is born or conceived during a time of famine may have increased risk of diabetes later in life as well. This is called the “thrifty phenotype” hypothesis.15 The theory is that a person’s metabolism upon birth has adapted to survive on fewer calories and in a nutritionally scarce environment, so when the environment changes as the person grows up, it has a negative effect on health. This has been shown through studies of people born in the Netherlands during a period of famine lasting from 1944 to 1945 and of people born in China during the severe famine that lasted from 1959 to 1961.16-17 If environmental and socioeconomic factors change so that a person born in famine experiences a much richer nutritional environment later in life, studies show there is an even greater risk of diabetes.11
 
References:
1 Ahlqvist E, Ahluwalia TS, Groop L. Genetics of type 2 diabetes. Clin Chem. 2011;57:241-254.
3 Chan JCN, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and Pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
4 Reece EA, Leguizamón G, Wiznitzer A. Gestational diabetes: the need for a common ground. Lancet. 2009;373:1789-1797.
6 Silverman BL, Metzger BE, Cho NH, Loeb CA. Impaired glucose tolerance in adolescent offspring of diabetic mothers: relationship to fetal hyperinsulinism. Diabetes Care. 1995;18:611-617.
7 Getahun D, Nath C, Ananth CV, Chavez MR, Smulian JC. Gestational diabetes in the United States: temporal trends 1989 through 2004. Am J Obstet Gynecol. 2008;198:525.e521-e525.
8 Dabelea D, Snell-Bergeon JK, Hartsfield CL, Bischoff KJ, Hamman RF, McDuffie RS. Increasing prevalence of gestational diabetes mellitus (GDM) over time and by birth cohort: Kaiser Permanente of Colorado GDM Screening Program. Diabetes Care. 2005;28:579-584.
10 Ferrara A, Kahn HS, Quesenberry CP, Riley C, Hedderson MM. An increase in the incidence of gestational diabetes mellitus: Northern California, 1991-2000. Obstet Gynecol. 2004;103:526-533.
11 Ley SH, Schulze MB, Hivert MF, Meigs JB, Hu FB. “Risk Factors for Type 2 Diabetes.” Diabetes in America. In press.
13 Harder T, Rodekamp E, Schellong K, Dudenhausen JW, Plagemann A. Birth weight and subsequent risk of type 2 diabetes: a meta-analysis. Am J Epidemiol. 2007;165:849-857.
14 Whincup PH, Kaye SJ, Owen CG, et al. Birth weight and risk of type 2 diabetes: a systematic review. JAMA. 2008;300:2886-2897.
15 Hu, FB. Globalization of diabetes: The role of diet, lifestyle, and genes. Diabetes Care. 2011;34(6):1249-1257.
16 Ravelli ACJ, van der Meulen JHP, Michels RPJ, et al. Glucose tolerance in adults after prenatal exposure to famine. Lancet. 1998;351:173-177.