憂鬱症與壓力

建議:意識到問題,尋求幫助

憂鬱症

憂鬱症會使您罹患2型糖尿病的風險增加高達60%。1 憂鬱症與許多不良健康習慣有關,例如吸煙、暴飲暴食以及缺少體力活動。1 事實上,憂鬱症患者肥胖的風險增加 58%。2 憂鬱症也與中心型肥胖有關, 1, 3 這與糖尿病風險尤為相關。

除了體重增加的這種可能性之外,臨床憂鬱症本身會增加您罹患糖尿病的風險。這可能是因為憂鬱症會增加應激激素的生成,例如皮質醇和促炎性細胞因子,兩者均會對您身體代謝葡萄糖的能力產生負面影響。4

由於許多亞洲國家在經歷快速經濟發展,憂鬱症在亞洲已成為越來越普遍。5 如果您常常感到沮喪,請向有執照的專業人員尋求治療。如果您已被確診患有憂鬱症,採取預防措施,幫助避免以後罹患糖尿病。了解有關如何降低風險的更多訊息。 

壓力

壓力可能與糖尿病風險有關,儘管這方面的數據尚不一致。6-7 不過,壓力與糖尿病的許多其他風險因素有關。長期壓力可能使人吃太多或吃不健康的食物,這些會促成肥胖。8 壓力也是失眠的常見原因,因為在您想睡覺的時候,您的擔心會讓您的頭腦過度活躍。9 壓力甚至可能使人感到沒有動力來保持身體活動。10 最後,如果壓力的嚴重程度超過您應對的能力,長時間巨大壓力通常導致憂鬱症。11 由於這些原因,良好的壓力管理有助於改善您的健康狀況,降低您罹患糖尿病的風險。

參考文獻:
1 Mezuk B, Eaton WW, Albrecht S, et al. Depression and type 2 diabetes over the lifespan: a meta-analysis. Diabetes Care. 2008 Dec;31(12):2383-2290.
2 Luppino FS, de Wit LM, Bouvy PF, et al. Overweight, obesity, and depression: a systematic review and meta-analysis of longitudinal studies. Arch Gen Psychiatry. 2010;67(3):220-229.
4 Rotella F, Mannucci E. Depression as a risk factor for diabetes: a meta-analysis of longitudinal studies. J Clin Psychiatry. 2013;74(1):31-37.
5 Chan JCN, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and Pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
7 Cosgrove MP, Sargeant LA, Caleyachetty R, et al. Work-related stress and type 2 diabetes: systematic review and meta-analysis. Occup Med (Lond). 2012;62(3):167-173.
8 Torres SJ, Nowson CA. Relationship between stress, eating behavior, and obesity. Nutrition. 2007;23(11-12):887-894.
9 Insomnia: Causes. Mayo Clinic. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/insomnia/DS00187/DSECTION=causes. Published January 2011. Accessed September 16, 2013.
10 Stults-Kolehmainen MA, Sinha R. The Effects of Stress on Physical Activity and Exercise. Sports Med. 2014;44(1):81-121.
11 Hammen C. Stress and depression. Annu Rev Clin Psychol. 2005;1:293-319.

Depression & Stress

Recommendation: Be Aware, Seek Out Help

Depression
 
Depression increases your risk of type 2 diabetes by as much as 60%.1 Depression is associated with many bad health habits, such as smoking, overeating, and a lack of physical activity.1 In fact, people with depression have a 58% increased risk of becoming obese.2 Depression is also associated with central obesity,1,3 which is particularly connected to diabetes risk.
 
In addition to this potential for weight gain, clinical depression by itself can increase your risk of developing diabetes. This may be because depression increases the production of stress hormones, such as cortisol, and proinflammatory cytokines, both of which can negatively affect your body’s ability to metabolize glucose.4
 
As many Asian countries are undergoing rapid economic development, depression has become increasingly common in Asia.5 If you often feel depressed, seek out treatment from a licensed professional. If you have already been diagnosed with depression, take precautions to help avoid developing diabetes in the future.  See more information on how to reduce your risk.
 
Stress
 
Stress may be related to the risk of diabetes, although the data for this has not been consistent.6-7 Nonetheless, stress is connected to many other risk factors for diabetes. Long-term stress can lead a person to eat too much or to eat unhealthy foods, which contributes to obesity.8 Stress is also a common cause of insomnia, as worries you have can keep your mind overly active while you are trying to sleep.9 Stress may even make it harder to feel motivated to keep physically active.10 Finally, times of great stress often lead to depression,11 if the severity of the stress overcomes your ability to cope. For these reasons, good stress management can help improve your health and reduce your risk of diabetes.
 
References: 
1 Mezuk B, Eaton WW, Albrecht S, et al. Depression and type 2 diabetes over the lifespan: a meta-analysis. Diabetes Care. 2008 Dec;31(12):2383-2290.
2 Luppino FS, de Wit LM, Bouvy PF, et al. Overweight, obesity, and depression: a systematic review and meta-analysis of longitudinal studies. Arch Gen Psychiatry. 2010;67(3):220-229.
4 Rotella F, Mannucci E. Depression as a risk factor for diabetes: a meta-analysis of longitudinal studies. J Clin Psychiatry. 2013;74(1):31-37.
5 Chan JCN, Malik V, Jia W, et al. Diabetes in Asia: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and Pathophysiology. JAMA. 2009;301(20):2129-2140.
7 Cosgrove MP, Sargeant LA, Caleyachetty R, et al. Work-related stress and type 2 diabetes: systematic review and meta-analysis. Occup Med (Lond). 2012;62(3):167-173.
8 Torres SJ, Nowson CA. Relationship between stress, eating behavior, and obesity. Nutrition. 2007;23(11-12):887-894.
9 Insomnia: Causes. Mayo Clinic. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/insomnia/DS00187/DSECTION=causes. Published January 2011. Accessed September 16, 2013.
10 Stults-Kolehmainen MA, Sinha R. The Effects of Stress on Physical Activity and Exercise. Sports Med. 2014;44(1):81-121.
11 Hammen C. Stress and depression. Annu Rev Clin Psychol. 2005;1:293-319.